Return to Headlines

51Թ honors outstanding educators of the year

Seven 51Թ’ educators have been selected as this year’s Columbia Fund for Academic Excellence honorees.

Since its inception in the 1979-80 school year, the Columbia Fund for Academic Excellence has served to recognize more than 250 educators in the Columbia Public School District for their outstanding teaching, leadership and support for students. Each year, educators are selected from nominations submitted by parents and peers as outstanding educators.

This year’s honorees and their respective categories are:

Outstanding Elementary Educator, Grades PreK\2
Alyssa Mincke, Ridgeway Elementary School

Outstanding Elementary Educator, Grades 3\5
Amanda Kinkead, Cedar Ridge Elementary School

Outstanding Middle School Educator 
Cathy Ferrell, Lange Middle School

Outstanding High School Educator
Hannah Nandor, Battle High School

Outstanding Educator in a Specialized Area
Hannah Vonder Haar, West Boulevard Elementary School  

Outstanding Beginning Teacher
Beau Roseblock, Jefferson Middle School

Outstanding Administrator
Shelly Fair, Director of English Learners (EL) and Migrant Education

Honorees receive a $1,500 cash award and an engraved silver tray.  An award banquet will be held next month to celebrate the honorees.

The fund began through the work of the late Ray and Jeanne Lewis, with an initial contribution and extensive fundraising efforts. The late Mr. Lewis was a local attorney and former Board of Education member. The late Mrs. Lewis was a former teacher.  Thanks to the contributions and support from individuals, businesses and organizations, Columbia’s best educators continued to be recognized each year for their contributions to young people.

You can from the surprise visits on CPS-TV.